Running in the Dark by Becky Hartung

Yesterday I got my copy of Running in the Dark by Becky Hartung and it’s been hard to put down. In fact, I’m on the last ten pages so here are a few thoughts while it’s still a current book.

As I mentioned in my Malibu post, Becky Hartung is an author, a recent Biola University graduate, and a friend. She’s been going out with my brother since last fall, but our relationship has developed the most over the summer. Becky is kind, witty, snarky, and passionate. She generously sent me a copy of her book before its official release, which was fantastic because (1) I love to get mail and (2) I desperately needed a new read. Running in the Dark has been like a cool glass of water during these Palo Alto dog days. Here are some favorite moments, with and without commentary and in no particular order.

  • The connection of “Oh, you too?” is the most powerful tool we can use in an effort to discover the light while we walk through the darkness together. Page 54. I’ve already made moves to share this book with a friend who struggles with relating to her peers. Becky’s willingness to share about her social anxiety means that my friend will know she’s not the only one. That’s huge.
  • Childhood in the clubhouse was lonely. Page 15.
  • Now, before we get really sad about this chapter, allow me to reassure you that an upside is coming. Page 17. Becky does this a few times during her book and I genuinely appreciate it.
  • God doesn’t remove the madness, He redeems. Page 52.
  • It’s about time we discussed my waistline. Page 56. This one made me laugh out loud, but it had to be a quiet chuckle since Mark was still asleep.
  • You don’t need to be good at something for it to be good for you. Page 58. Apparently I was really connecting with the fifty something pages. And major props to Becky for running.
  •  …we agreed in those moments we could never really fix each other, but we could manage our best to see one another through the bad stuff. Page 34.

Thank you, Becky, for sending me your book. More importantly, thank you for being vulnerable. You’re making the world a better place.

